Federal State Budget-Financed Educational Institution of Higher Education The Bonch-Bruevich SAINT PETERSBURG STATE UNIVERSITY OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS – SPSUT
The Bonch-Bruevich Saint-Petersburg State University of Telecommunications (SPbSUT) is under the charge of Russian Federal Agency of Communications, Under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Telecom and Mass Communications of Russian Federation, Leading institution in the field of Telecommunications. The main field of the university activity is education of different levels which are: secondary education (lyceum),secondary vocational education (college and university branches),Master Programs (Russian language) -Information Security, Business Informatics, Design and Technology of Electronic Media, Radio Technologies, Info communication networks and communication systems, Standardization and Metrology, Advertising and Public Relations, Advertising and Public Relations, Regional Studies, Automation and Management, Information Systems and Technologies.
Master programmes in English: Information Systems and Technologies, Information Security, Electronic Business.The size of university, as a communication scientific and educational complex, is very impressive: there are six study and laboratory buildings (total space is more than 65,000 square meters), with an assembly hall, conference halls, dozens of study and scientific laboratories, computer classes, and specialized classrooms. The university has at its disposal a complete complex of infrastructure objects: three dormitories for 1,500 people, big gymnasium, sport halls, scientific and technical library, a powerful university Internet node, and much, much more. But the main thing that makes it possible for the university to face the future with confidence is the creative and scientific potential of teachers, scientific staff, students’ enthusiasm and aspiration to knowledge. High demand for graduates of SPbSUT, as of the most advanced training and scientific center, that ensures the formation of human recourses reserve for communications, demand for the graduates from the leading telecommunication enterprises of the region, all this is the result of work done by all the personnel of the university, and is a guarantee for its dynamic development in the coming years.

SibSUTIS was established in 1953 as the Novosibirsk Electrical Institute of Telecommunications (NEIT). In 1998 NEIT was awarded a University status and a new title – Siberian State University of Telecommunications and Information Sciences (SibSUTIS). At present SibSUTIS counts 12.000 students, 450 teachers-researchers, 800 administrative and technical staff. It integrates university in Novosibirsk, 3 institutions in Khabarovsk, Ulan-Ude, Ekaterinburg and 1 college in Novosibirsk. The university comprises 6 departments (Computer Sciences, Automatic Electrical Communicaions, Multichannel Electrical Communications, Mobile Telephony and Multimedia, Economics and Management, Sociology).
SibSUTIS offers a wide spectrum of degree courses: Bachelor’s degree, Engineer’s degree, Master’s degree, Doctors and Doctors of Sciences. SibSUTIS trains students in the following key disciplines: Communication Networks, Commutation Systems, Optical Communications, Mobile Communication, Computer Sciences, Software, Applied Informatics in Economics, Finances and Credit, Economics and Management in Telecommunication Enterprises.
Research is carried out in 25 Departments and 60 Laboratories at the university. Most of teaching is done in Russian, but the university can host teaching in English for doctorate studies in Cryptography, Coding Theory, Information and Communication Technology (ICT).
SibSUTIS has already adopted the Bologna-style higher education system based on two main cycles (Bachelor and Master). Programs of the Bachelor and Master cycle are already developed and accredited. Development and adoption of the education two cycles system is one of the most important conditions for integration with EU universities, enabling mobility of students and academic staff and ECTS-based credit transfer. Implementation of ECTS in SibSUTIS has become an effective tool to create the clarity of curricula and make academic recognition easier.
Furthermore SibSUTIS provides distance learning, retraining and short-term courses of raising skills in fields of telecommunication technologies, economics, finances and business in telecommunications and informatics to Russian and CIS companies.SibSUTIS has close and solid relations with the biggest telecommunication operators such as “Rostelecom” and IT companies. SibSUTIS actively cooperates with foreign telecommunication companies and firms. Among the partners are Alcatel Lucent, Cisco, Huawei, Techcom Consulting. This cooperation has insured that the university possesses the best telecommunication equipment and software base beyond Ural. Leading telecommunication companies established their laboratories at SibSUTIS.

The Ministry of Education and Science (Minobrnauka) is a federal executive body responsible for drafting and implementing government policy and legal regulation in the field of education, science, research and development and related innovation activities, nanotechnology, development of national research and high technology centres, national research centres and academic towns, intellectual property (excluding legal regulation of issues related to control, supervision and the provision of state services in the field of legal protection of inventions, useful models, industrial samples, computer software, databases and topography of integral circuits, including those that are part of a comprehensive technology, trademarks, service marks, and protected designation of origin), as well as in the field of education, guardianship and custody of minors, social assistance and social security for students of educational establishments, youth policy, and state services and state property management in the field of education, upbringing, science, research and development and related innovation activities, including national research and high technology centres, national research centres, unique research stands and equipment, national multiple access centres, leading research schools, the new-generation national computer network, and information support to research, research and development and related innovation activities.